Angel of God, Prayer

I have been reading articles/ writings regarding angels since yesterday. I have reached the topic of the Angelic Doctor, the one who has written the doctrine about angels in the Summa Theologica. He was Saint Thomas Aquinas, whose death happened on the 7th of March 1274. Yesterday was his death anniversary. I think he has just touched me! Saint Thomas Aquinas and the angels, pray for us.

I learned from my parents and I taught my little ones…

Angel of God 
My guardian dear 
To Whom His love 
Commits me here 
Ever this day (night)
Be at my side 
To light and guard 
To rule and guide. Amen

     The first prayer that parents usually teach their children is this Prayer to One’s Guardian Angel. It is short and easy to remember. It expresses trust in an angel as God’s messenger and protector. This traditional Roman Catholic prayer was inspired by the verses composed by Reginald of Canterbury. He created Life of St. Malchus wherein the first verse resembled the version of the prayer that we use today.

Angele, qui meus es custos pietate superna,
me tibi commissum serva, tueare, guberna;
terge meam mentem vitiis et labe veterna
assiduusque comes mihi sis vitaque lucerna.

Angel, my guardian dear, who are my servant,
committed to me unto thee hath the servant of the assurance, rule;
dry up my mind to vice and sin Veterna
Give me a constant companion of life of the lamp.

Worthy of sharing is the Litany to the Holy Angels

Lord, have mercy on us.     Christ, have mercy on us.
Lord, have mercy on us.  Christ, hear us.    Christ, graciously hear us.
God the Father of Heaven,    Have mercy on us.
God the Son, Redeemer of the world,    Have mercy on us.
God the Holy Spirit,    Have mercy on us.
Holy Trinity, One God,    Have mercy on us.

Holy Mary, Queen of Heaven,   pray for us.
Holy Angel, my guardian,   pray for us.
Holy Angel, my protector in all dangers, etc.
Holy Angel, my defense in all afflictions,
Holy Angel, most faithful lover,
Holy Angel, my preceptor,
Holy Angel, my guide,
Holy Angel, witness of all my actions,
Holy Angel, my helper in all my difficulties,
Holy Angel, my negotiator with God,
Holy Angel, my advocate,
Holy Angel, lover of chastity,
Holy Angel, lover of innocence,
Holy Angel, most obedient to God,
Holy Angel, director of my soul,
Holy Angel, model of purity,
Holy Angel, model of docility,
Holy Angel, my counsellor in doubt,
Holy Angel, my guardian through life,
Holy Angel, my shield at the hour of death,

Lamb of God, Who takest away the sins of the world,     Spare us, O Lord.
Lamb of God, Who takest away the sins of the world,    Hear us, O Lord.
Lamb of God, Who takest away the sins of the world,    Have mercy on us.

Let Us Pray

Almighty and everlasting God, Who in the counsel of Thine ineffable goodness hast appointed to all the faithful, from their mother’s womb, a special Angel Guardian of their body and soul, grant that I may so love and honor him whom Thou hast so mercifully given me, that protected by the bounty of Thy grace and by his assistance, I may merit to behold, with him and all the angelic hosts, the glory of Thy countenance in the heavenly country.  Thou, Who livest and reignest, world without end.  R. Amen.

Leave a Reply

